For me art, gardening, my family/friends, my unborn baby, my lifestyle, are all so connected in my life that it is difficult when I write these posts to just write about art and leave the rest out. No, I’d rather take the name of lifestyle blogger… maybe…

IMG_0653

This is a picture of my present palette I am using to work on a large portrait. I’ve spent about ten hours on it so far and only feel just halfway through. It’s a really exciting painting and I’m taking my time on it and really paying as much attention as I can as I paint. I’m pushing myself, and it is exhausting, but it feels good.

I’ve been getting so much inspiration and motivation lately to paint and create and get out and do. The beginning of my pregnancy was definitely not like this, I remember wondering if I would have to put art aside for awhile when I had a baby, and maybe for years until my child(ren) was all grown up and I had time again. But I have since realized that for me painting is not just a hobby it is part of me now. I wouldn’t know what to do if I had to stop. If you meet my dad who lives and breathes boats you would know where I get this ability to be obsessed with one thing! Even my Mum is obsessed with her writing. It is a useful trait, and I think it intensifies with indulgence!… So I know having a baby won’t stop me from creating and still striving to reach my goals–from being obsessed.

‘Ah, but you just wait until you actually have the baby’, I can hear you say! ‘You will have no time, you will be a sleepless wreck, you will not have time to blow your nose!’ Yes, I know. That’s okay. I am perfectly prepared to feel like I am done with art for a time, that I can only be a mother now because it is the most all consuming thing in the world. I am not afraid of feeling that, because I am so looking forward to having our baby and living and breathing baby for a time. And I know that a baby will not stop my creativity, and that as soon as I have time and energy again, I will be back again full of new inspiration. It may take me in new directions, new themes, new mediums, but I’m okay with that. I am open to having my life changed, to being completely out of control, and like a flower in the wind who will bend but will not break. It is a beautiful thing to be able to let go and to believe and to love freely. ….These are my ideals…. I should apply them more to my art…

Here is a quick peak at a detail of the painting I am working on. Oil on canvas, 24 x 24 inches, so a little larger than life size.

IMG_0663

‘We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit.’
-Aristotle

2 thoughts on “Musing on Change with Rasberry Leaf Tea

  1. Beautiful work! I am on the other side of things now with my children just now out of the house but I wanted to say that my art has always been a passion of mine and whether I took the time when the kids were in bed, early or late in the evening, I painted. Blessings to you and your precious
    Babe-to-be.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

