Last week I heard back from the show organizers that I have been accepted for the 2017 Christchurch Art Show! It is pretty exciting, and I’m going to have to get very organized very soon. The show is in mid June so technically I have three months to paint and prepare, but I am expecting a baby to arrive in a little over a month, so I would like to get all the painting done before then!

So I have been trying to concentrate most of my time on painting these days and it has been good. I showed you a glimpse of what I am currently working on in my post last Friday. And I hope to write a post all about that soon. I haven’t started that painting of the roses yet, I took so long to get organized and begin that the inspiration waned and at the same time I got very inspired to paint a portrait and so I just went with it, and it has turned out pretty good so far. Maybe I will do the roses painting next, but maybe I won’t also.

Last year I entered some work into the Christchurch Art Show but didn’t have my own panel so I only had two works hanging at one time. This time I have a panel all to myself which costs a lot more, but I think it will be worth it. So I will need more paintings especially as the show runs on a cash and carry basis, meaning if someone buys a piece they take it away then and there and the space needs to be replaced with new work. So that means I need to take about twice as much work than I can display at one time.

Here is a link to the website. On the front page is a video of the show opening last year. At about 20 seconds in you will see a couple dancing, that is Caleb and me! It was fun, good live music, lots of cheese and nibbles at the opening evening, and a real diversity of art. It is good to see a show so broad in it’s range of styles, subject, and media. Something for everyone, and lots get sold.

074a8c51ddb610305e3b6828665543c4

Leave a Reply

